NEXT MEETING: Wednesday, May 15, 2024, 6:00 PM: our monthly meeting shifts to the Roundup Lodge in San Lorenzo (Mimbres Valley) for the summer months. Doors open at 6PM for a potluck dinner so bring your own plates, utensils, and a dish for yourself or to share with the group. Brief GCAS business meeting begins at 6:30 PM followed immediately by our evening's Featured Speaker, Preservation Anthropologist Aaron Wright PhD, who will present Indigenous Rock Imagery of the Sonoran Desert. Members and non-members alike are welcome to join us for an evening of good food and an engaging discussion. In order to offer our members a safe and comfortable experience at our in-person meetings the GCAS recommends each attendee take the masking, distancing, and vaccination precautions they feel are appropriate for themselves in group gatherings.

NEXT FIELD TRIP: Sunday, May 5, 2024: we aim for an unnamed Mimbres site on Fort Bayard/USFS land. Meet our trip leader, the GCAS's own Torie Grass, at the Big Tree parking lot (USFS directions are here), about a half hour's drive from Silver City. The group will start from the trailhead at 10AM sharp for a hike of about a mile one-way, north past the USFS Hot Shot buildings. The trail is mostly flat, with an incline up to a ridge at the end to reach the site. Torie advises to bring water and a lunch if desired, and to dress with appropriate pants for walking through some dry, stickery brush. Let's go!

Happy 2022 To All!
Online Via Zoom: Our January 19, 2022, Featured Speaker, David Greenwald

Our 2022 Officers and Board of Trustees

LecturingAnnouncing our current slate of GCAS officers! You will see a couple of open positions this year, so please consider stepping up to maintain the strong bullpen we've had!

  • President:                            OPEN
  • Vice President:                     Marilyn Gendron
  • Treasurer:                            Lee Brown
  • Secretary:                            William Hudson
  • Program Chair:                     Marilyn Gendron
  • Field Trip Coordinator:         OPEN
  • Newsletter:                           Bill Dixon (editor), Kyle Meredith (distribution)
  • Membership:                         Lee Brown, Kyle Meredith

Our current Board of Trustees:

Gary Barnett

Lee Brown

Bill Dixon

Marilyn Gendron

William Hudson

Marilyn Markel

Kathryn McCarroll

Kyle Meredith

Cheryl Scannell

Marianne Smith

Our Honorary Board Member: Mary Margaret Soulé

/s/ webmaster


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)